Your Cart(0)

 

Our shoes are aweSOMe, but don't take our word for it! See what actual customers are saying about SOM Footwear.

 _____

They are my daily drivers. I vend cross-country at music festivals most of the year so they definitely get worn! It requires a minimum of 5 miles of walking for 4 days straight every single week.

SOMs get me through every step so effortlessly and without aches and pains at the end of 16 hour days.

They are beasts when it comes to all the types of terrain I end up walking through. I'm glad to hear my shoes aren't beyond resoling. I surely will be investing in another pair once your shop is back up and running. Thank you!

C.P. of Atlantic Beach, FL
February 2017

_____

How great to hear back from you so quickly! I am quite impressed. Again, thanks so much and happy to know that I can have the shoes resoled if needed. Fortunately they are not needing that yet. So glad they work great as everyday shoes, gym shoes and hiking shoes - and helped my plantars fasciitis along with my correct toes.

L.E. of Blacksburg, VA
January 2017

_____

Best. Shoes. Ever. Because the problem now is I don't have enough pairs.
I've finally found my brand.

D.R. of Los Angeles, CA
December 2016

 _____

I have a pair of your SP-L3 shoes black on black and have literally worn the soles off. They have been the best shoes I have purchased as they are worn at least three days a week in a very harsh environment. I have used them for things they are definitely not designed for and they are still in decent condition.

T.L. of Mesa, AZ
December 2016

_____

They arrived today (well last night) and they're fantastic. They fit perfect, they're light and comfy. It's a big win.  I basically spent 3 days searching the internet looking for a sustainable shoe made in America that was designed smartly and didn't look terrible :)

C.P. of Clermont, FL
November 2016

_____

I received my SOM shoes today, and I love love love them! 

I've been struggling with Morton's Neuroma for a couple years now.  Last summer I discovered Correct Toes, and I was able to buy some Altra running shoes (which are also very great for my feet), but I wanted a shoe to wear to work that was not a "running shoe." 

The second I put them on I knew they were perfect.  
I am so happy to own these shoes.

I can easily wear my Correct Toes in the SOMs, and I love how they look.  I am so happy to spend $130 on a pair on nice, USA-made shoes instead of $100 on a cortisone shot for my foot that doesn't work anyway and is ultimately unhealthy. I will happily buy another pair of these. Thank you for contacting me, and thanks for doing what you're doing.

J.S. of Portland, OR
November 2016

_____

I too love your shoes and don’t want to wear anything else and planned to buy another pair since I started to wear my current pair for work and play. I love that even after a year or so my shoes still don’t stink and I wear them daily. I also love that since I started wearing them for work I no longer feel any pains in my legs ever and my back seems to feel better as well. I am 31 and don’t have any medical issues but going up and down the 3 flights of stair numerous times a day at the apartment complex I manage and maintain in my hard toed work shoes I noticed my knees would hurt and at night my back was uncomfortable while I slept and now that’s not the case. I wear these for everything all day and so far in deep snow and my feet feel better than if I had my winter boots on from last year, which I tossed due to the issues they gave me (whole body discomfort).

C.M. of Carthage, NY
October 2016

_____

My sister loves the shoes. Laces are for Halloween. But all black is her favorite. Thanks very much for making it happen!

Halloween SOMs


N.K. for D.K. of Corvallis, OR
October 2016

_____

I have two pairs of SOM. They are, without a doubt, the best shoes. I wear my SOM every day for work or play. These shoes are so great I would quit my day job and come work with you! Anyway, I am excited to see what Olie will come up with next! SOM For life!

A.T. of Phoenix, AZ
October 2016

_____

I’ve had my one pair for many months now and I wear them more than any other shoe.  Made in America...Each passing week I am buying more and more made in America products.  It is true, in many cases those products do cost more so I make them last longer, take better care of them if I’m concerned about the expense.  SOM shoes are not throw-away-shoes, not bought with the expectation that, like other shoes, they come from Vietnam and are easily and cheaply replaceable.  Or in some cases very expensive!

I can’t express how impressed I am with SOM.
They just are like no other shoe I’ve ever worn.

I will be buying more! I look forward to the new style but even if no new style were forthcoming, what SOM already produces is wonderful and would be enough for me. I’m happy to talk to people about the little American flag on them

S.S. of San Antonio, TX
October 2016

_____

I’ve been patiently awaiting your relaunch relative to the tread left on my newest pair of shoes.  They are getting a bit thin, but boy do these cordura ones hold up so much better than the cloth ones.  

As a note, I was at Interbike last month and I foolishly thought that walking the mile from my hotel, then a good 3-4 miles at the show, then back, would be better suited with a pair of Keen’s. Big mistake, big blisters.  The next day was SOM with no troubles, even my day-old blisters didn’t bother me.  I know you are probably supposed to rotate your shoes during the week, but I’ve been wearing this pair every day for the past 3-4 months, I think.

M.D. of San Diego, CA
October 2016

_____

My name is J.M. I live in Vermont, and am a STRONG proponent of your product. I have said to my wife and family that I wish I had enough money to buy a dozen pairs of SOMS at once, because I am horrified at the idea that you may go out of production, and I cannot imagine wearing a different daily shoe.

I am not a fashion person. I am not a sensationalist.
I need these shoes.

My red pair of SOMS that I so enthusiastically communicated with you about  (I RAVED about these to you folks. Seriously, I walk on trails 4-5 miles a day in these things) is nearing the end. I just went to order a fresh pair.

J.M. of Montpellier, VT
October 2016

_____

You have the best athletic shoes by the way.  Durable and comfortable.  After reading hundreds of reviews on Amazon about every brand of athletic shoe, for the sake of my curiosity, the most complaints about athletic shoes were about durability.  I'm a big guy at 345 pounds and I can't get a pair of athletic shoes to last more than 6 months to save my life.  It's been six months and these shoes are still going strong even with camping at the beach for 5 days and trips to the mountains.

In about a month (probably less), I'm going to buy another pair.  These will last forever, but I want to have some different looks.

J.L. Moxee, WA
September 2016

_____

Hey SOM, Just wanted to thank you guys for an awesome pair of shoes! Had them for a few months now, and I wear them just about everywhere. I was happy to find out they are excellent weight lifting shoes as well as for running.

So thanks again, as a military member, I respect your quality product and desire to support workers here at home!

I'll be on the lookout for another pair in the future!

A.W. of Fort Sam Houston, TX
August 2016

_____

My shoes arrived in great shape.  Thank you!  I've worn them and enjoy them.

I knew about SOM for a week or two before ordering them.  I have shoes from LEMS too, but wanted to try yours.  The thicker soles are better for wearing in the fields and trails here.  Lots of stickers and cactus thorns in west Texas.  Many family, friends and clients have been referred to SOM.  I hope some purchase shoes from you.  I will again.

C.W. of Apline, TX
August 2016

_____

I've had my SP-L3's for a few months now. I wear them working (repair, woodwork), gardening, and on daily 1-3 mi. walks. They are the best shoes I've ever had. Really like how light they are, and they are surprisingly tough. So comfortable, I can't really wear my boots anymore since they are so bad by comparison.

I got them partly because I have immune disorder and have to keep my stuff clean or it makes me feel bad. I couldn't really wash my previous leather shoes. The Som's wash as easily as my clothes!

I didn't like the original laces, they loosened too easily. The insoles seem to be getting ragged but I don't really mind, they are replaceable. These are the only complaints I have.

I will wear and repair these to the bitter end and then buy another pair without hesitation. 

Thanks for the great shoes. I really like that you make them in the US too!

D.R of Bellingham, WA
July 2016

_____

I bought a pair of your shoes sometime ago and absolutely love them. I had foot issues along with bad knees and more recently some major ham-string pain.  I wear your shoes walking as I found my hiking boots just added to my problems.  I now wear your shoes for just about everything: yard work, working dogs, walking, shopping, church, etc.  I was recently in Southern Oregon helping my mom with a garage sale.  It was hot.  I went barefooted.  By the end of the day I was in so much pain, I was near tears.  That doesn’t happen when I wear your shoes.  So, thank you for putting out a good product.

J.B. of Rochester, WA
July 2016

_____

I've been traveling the last two months, and just got back to find my shoes waiting for me.  They are *awesome*!  

I am blown away by your customer service.  
Your shoes rock.  You guys rock.

I've already been telling my friends about what great shoes you guys make, but now I'll have to start adding the story of how you brought my "winter pair" of SOM's back to life in such an awesome way.

P.H. of Anchorage, AK
July 2016

_____

SOMs hike by the river

We were on the Salmon River in Idaho in the Frank Church Wilderness for five days with a group organized by our friend at The Wilderness Society.  We rafted down the river, took a number of hikes, set up camp every night and broke camp every morning.  The shoes got wet, got dirty, were rained on, got a lot of sand in them.  I took three pairs, J took two.  As long as we took the insoles out and put the shoes in a dry place, the wet ones dried out and we had dry, comfortable feet for all these uses every day.  They were great!  Having taken several trips like this before, for our feet this was by far the best.  Most people prefer flip flops or sandals.  We both like the shoes.  Cheers.  

C.F. of Boston, MA
July 2016

_____

I'm so glad you were able to resole my shoes!  You did an amazing job!  

The quality of the work is impeccable!  

I'm so happy to get these shoes on my feet again, I've already got 3 hours of running in them.  I really like the outersole you use, It's been raining here a bit so we've got plenty of wet rocks, roots, and mud, and the traction is great!  Again, Merci beaucoup!


G.B. of Silverthorne, CO
July 2016

______

I love my new shoes!! Merci beaucoup!

Love my SOMs

A.C. of Eugene, OR

June 2016

_____

Thanks for developing these shoes!  They were awesome in the Spartan race. They are my favorite shoes and even after the race they looked beautiful.  Up walls, through mud, they handled everything.  My teammate's toes got chewed, mine were just fine.  Thanks again for the shoes!

SOMs win races

 

C.H. of Montrose, CO
May 2016

_____

When my shoes arrived I was initially disappointed because of a large scuff in the leather. I pondered sending them back but after slipping into them there was no way I was waiting for a replacement. I work as a nurse and had been wearing clogs for years. A recent change in positions requires me to be able to move quickly at the drop of a hat. Not an easy feat while wearing clogs. These shoes are extremely comfortable and I have had no issues with breaking them in. They were all day friendly from day 1.

A.M. of Wood River, IL
March 2016

_____

I just wanted to let you know I received my shoes on Wed.  I've worn them to work for 2 days know and I love them.  

When I put them on it's the first time I can think of
that my foot felt right in a shoe.

No tightness, rubbing or bulges to deal with.  A space for my forefoot and toes to breathe and no slippage in my heel. Thank you for all your help.  

M.G. of Madison, WI
March 2016

_____

Well, these pictures are not of the worst of my work times, but they give an idea that my SOMs are not just for looking good, they are for working in!! I hope you don't mind if I've already muddied the shoes?

SOMs hard workSOMs hard at work

I've been wearing them 'hard' this weekend:  they've been to the landfill to empty the trash trailer;  out in the yard gathering pruned tree branches;  digging ditches (little bit muddy);  out in the heavy mist/longish grass while pulling weeds;  hours on the concrete floor of my woodshop;  and running to and from the store. These shoes are sweet!!

Your assurance of dry feet in reasonable moisture situations was right on-  they got quite moist this morning, but my feet stayed dry.  I'm thinking that by the end of this summer, they will be thoroughly broken in.

Thanks, again, for the great deal!
R.S. of Kerrville, TX
March 2016

Return to featured testimonials                                      Read more testimonials

1006 N Cascade Ave Montrose, CO 81401 United States 970-765-2616