SOM Footwear: MADE TO SERVE FEET — Try SOMs risk free!

Testimonials & Customer Reviews

Our shoes are aweSOMe, but don't take our word for it...
Read testimonials and customer reviews from actual people wearing our shoes in the real world!

SOM norwood minimalist shoes on sidewalkSOM Minimalist ShoesSom minimalist shoes casual on benchSOM Minimalist shoes active on beach

_____

I'm still very much enjoying my SOMs! They are super comfy and light while feeling durable enough for construction work!

H.B of Greensboro, NC
September 2017

_____

I love my SOM shoes. I seem to be reaching for them the majority of the time when I leave my house. I wondered about support (I have a quite dysfunctional left total knee replacement; that had to have revision surgery) but

I am amazed how my walking is most comfortable in these shoes!

Thank you for caring to create SOM footwear.

K.W. of Traverse City, MI
September 2017

_____

I purchased my SOM shoes for dog walking and general knocking around, and because my feet have generally been happiest in mocs or other unstructured shoes. I thought I'd take them as a backup pair for a trip to Geneva and Vienna, then decided, a little hesitantly, to take them as my only pair. They proved to be excellent travel shoes for city walking and public transport in very hot weather. I was never in a situation where they didn't work well. And for my feet, the wide toebox is perfect.

J.S. of Clifton Park, NY
September 2017

_____

Crew, Thanks so much...you have great customer service. The resoled SOM's came out fantastic....when my new pair is getting worn, I won't hesitate to send them!

B.H. of Windsor NY
September 2017

_____

These shoes are fantastic! They are lightweight and very comfortable. Even better, made in Colorado! Thanks again for the awesome shoes.

T.L. of Steamboat Springs, CO
August 2017

_____

These shoes have been wonderful! I recently returned from a 2 week trip to the North East, my home states of NH, NY, and VT. I spent time hiking trails through the Adirondacks, Rye Beach in NH and many towns in Vermont. My SOM's handled everything wonderfully! 

I wear them everywhere!

I am now back to work and wearing them nearly every day!!! Thanks so much, will probably be ordering another pair soon.

M.J. of Waveland, MS
August 2017

_____

Just finished a day going around Mt. Hood after a week on the Oregon Coast for the eclipse. Beach, rocky trails, forest trails and an enjoyable first class restaurant…all in our one pair of SOMs. Airports, security, driving, and hanging out were all made more comfortable with our SOMs. Thanks for the wonderful shoes.

A. & G. R. of Montrose, CO
August 2017

____

I just returned home from 11 days of guiding at Smith Rock State Park. I am happy to report that I didn't even bother wearing my sticky rubber approach shoes--I opted for my much more comfortable SOMs, and my feet and legs were much happier for it. While initially I was worried about not having sticking climbing rubber on my approach shoes, I found that having comfortable shoes is much better in the long run. Also, the flexible sold of my SOMs actually allowed my to grip the rock pretty well while hiking.  Your shoes have been so beneficial for my foot health over the past year. I love them!!!

J.S. of Portland, OR
July 2017

_____

SOM Team, Great fit, great feel, made in USA-

Best sneakers I've ever had.

D.W. of Bellmore, NY
June 2017

_____

Got them yesterday. Initial impressions were very very positive. They look enough like "normal" sneakers, that was the main thing. They fit great. They feel really good. Not weird looking at all.  Sometimes I use toe spacers and I'm glad these will accommodate. So as far as my own idiosyncrasies are concerned, zero drop, wide toe box, "normal" looking and a thicker sole (more than 5mm) are best for me. These SOMs fit the bill on all counts. Nice job. Total home run.

S.R. of Washing D.C.
June 2017

_____

Hello! I love them!!! Glad that you are still making shoes. Please continue to do so. It's hard to find shoes that are healthy for your feet and that are comfortable and stylish too. Thank you so much!

S.H. of Parrottsville, TN
June 2017

_____

TV of Ohio Testimonial

T.V. of Rocky River, OH
June 2017

_____

They arrived! Thank you very much. What did you do to my "old" pair? They feel better than new, like house slippers I can ride my bike with! Thanks again!

C.B. of Seattle, WA
June 2017

_____

Believe I am the first pair of size 16 and very grateful you are making my size now. They fit perfectly. The wide toe box was right on. They make my feet feel so comfortable.

It’s like someone snuck in and measured my feet before you made the shoes.

Work in the hospital and wore them to work first week and even wore them when i coach my sons baseball team after work. They feel light with good air flow. Sole is outstanding and feels like you almost don’t have on any shoes. I’ll let you know in a few months how they hold up.Will probably order another pair soon. Quality looks and feels great and thanks for making them in the USA. My wife already said she wants a pair and only had them for four days so I’ll be ordering two pairs next time. nice job!

M.K. of St. Louis, MO
June 2017

______

Birthday Norwoods

My new SOM shoes arrived just in time for my birthday. Their new model is called the Norwood. I used to have to wear arch supports in my shoes but still suffered heel, hip and back pain. Then I heard about SOM minimalist shoes. I love them! No more heel pain and the hip and back pain is greatly reduced and gone most days. I highly recommend SOM footwear.

K.L. of Norwood, CO
May 2017

_____

I got a pair of SOMs last April, and I'm a believer! Never had more comfortable feet (& knees, hips, back)

L.T. of Norwood, CO
May 2017

_____


I am satisfied with the new SOM shoes! Functionally, they are just as good as the older version, with an added aesthetic design. I think my older pair may need a resoling soon. Thanks again for your efforts! SOM-o 4 life!

A.T. of Phoenix, AZ
April 2017

_____

They are awesome! My husband wants a pair now so will probably be ordering him a pair soon!

K.K. of Montgomery, AL
April 2017

_____

Norwoods next to SP-L3s

Pair #5 next to pair #4.

M.D. of San Diego, CA
April 2017

_____

Got them! And happy with them!

S.S. of San Antonio, TX
April 2017

_____

Again, thanks so much and happy to know that I can have the shoes resoled if needed. Fortunately they are not needing that yet. So glad they work great as everyday shoes, gym shoes and hiking shoes - and helped my plantars fasciitis along with my correct toes.

L.E. of Blacksburg, VA
February 2017

_____

They are my daily drivers. I vend cross-country at music festivals most of the year so they definitely get worn! It requires a minimum of 5 miles of walking for 4 days straight every single week.

SOMs get me through every step so effortlessly and without aches and pains at the end of 16 hour days.

They are beasts when it comes to all the types of terrain I end up walking through. I'm glad to hear my shoes aren't beyond resoling. I surely will be investing in another pair once your shop is back up and running. Thank you!

C.P. of Atlantic Beach, FL
February 2017

_____

How great to hear back from you so quickly! I am quite impressed. Again, thanks so much and happy to know that I can have the shoes resoled if needed. Fortunately they are not needing that yet. So glad they work great as everyday shoes, gym shoes and hiking shoes - and helped my plantars fasciitis along with my correct toes.

L.E. of Blacksburg, VA
January 2017

_____

Best. Shoes. Ever. Because the problem now is I don't have enough pairs.
I've finally found my brand.

D.R. of Los Angeles, CA
December 2016

 _____

I have a pair of your SP-L3 shoes black on black and have literally worn the soles off. They have been the best shoes I have purchased as they are worn at least three days a week in a very harsh environment. I have used them for things they are definitely not designed for and they are still in decent condition.

T.L. of Mesa, AZ
December 2016

_____

They arrived today (well last night) and they're fantastic. They fit perfect, they're light and comfy. It's a big win.  I basically spent 3 days searching the internet looking for a sustainable shoe made in America that was designed smartly and didn't look terrible :)

C.P. of Clermont, FL
November 2016

_____

I received my SOM shoes today, and I love love love them! 

I've been struggling with Morton's Neuroma for a couple years now.  Last summer I discovered Correct Toes, and I was able to buy some Altra running shoes (which are also very great for my feet), but I wanted a shoe to wear to work that was not a "running shoe." 

The second I put them on I knew they were perfect.  
I am so happy to own these shoes.

I can easily wear my Correct Toes in the SOMs, and I love how they look.  I am so happy to spend $130 on a pair on nice, USA-made shoes instead of $100 on a cortisone shot for my foot that doesn't work anyway and is ultimately unhealthy. I will happily buy another pair of these. Thank you for contacting me, and thanks for doing what you're doing.

J.S. of Portland, OR
November 2016

_____

I too love your shoes and don’t want to wear anything else and planned to buy another pair since I started to wear my current pair for work and play. I love that even after a year or so my shoes still don’t stink and I wear them daily. I also love that since I started wearing them for work I no longer feel any pains in my legs ever and my back seems to feel better as well. I am 31 and don’t have any medical issues but going up and down the 3 flights of stair numerous times a day at the apartment complex I manage and maintain in my hard toed work shoes I noticed my knees would hurt and at night my back was uncomfortable while I slept and now that’s not the case. I wear these for everything all day and so far in deep snow and my feet feel better than if I had my winter boots on from last year, which I tossed due to the issues they gave me (whole body discomfort).

C.M. of Carthage, NY
October 2016

_____

My sister loves the shoes. Laces are for Halloween. But all black is her favorite. Thanks very much for making it happen!

Halloween SOMs


N.K. for D.K. of Corvallis, OR
October 2016

_____

I have two pairs of SOM. They are, without a doubt, the best shoes. I wear my SOM every day for work or play. These shoes are so great I would quit my day job and come work with you! Anyway, I am excited to see what Olie will come up with next! SOM For life!

A.T. of Phoenix, AZ
October 2016

_____

I’ve had my one pair for many months now and I wear them more than any other shoe.  Made in America...Each passing week I am buying more and more made in America products.  It is true, in many cases those products do cost more so I make them last longer, take better care of them if I’m concerned about the expense.  SOM shoes are not throw-away-shoes, not bought with the expectation that, like other shoes, they come from Vietnam and are easily and cheaply replaceable.  Or in some cases very expensive!

I can’t express how impressed I am with SOM.
They just are like no other shoe I’ve ever worn.

I will be buying more! I look forward to the new style but even if no new style were forthcoming, what SOM already produces is wonderful and would be enough for me. I’m happy to talk to people about the little American flag on them

S.S. of San Antonio, TX
October 2016

_____

I’ve been patiently awaiting your relaunch relative to the tread left on my newest pair of shoes.  They are getting a bit thin, but boy do these cordura ones hold up so much better than the cloth ones.  

As a note, I was at Interbike last month and I foolishly thought that walking the mile from my hotel, then a good 3-4 miles at the show, then back, would be better suited with a pair of Keen’s. Big mistake, big blisters.  The next day was SOM with no troubles, even my day-old blisters didn’t bother me.  I know you are probably supposed to rotate your shoes during the week, but I’ve been wearing this pair every day for the past 3-4 months, I think.

M.D. of San Diego, CA
October 2016

_____

My name is J.M. I live in Vermont, and am a STRONG proponent of your product. I have said to my wife and family that I wish I had enough money to buy a dozen pairs of SOMS at once, because I am horrified at the idea that you may go out of production, and I cannot imagine wearing a different daily shoe.

I am not a fashion person. I am not a sensationalist.
I need these shoes.

My red pair of SOMS that I so enthusiastically communicated with you about  (I RAVED about these to you folks. Seriously, I walk on trails 4-5 miles a day in these things) is nearing the end. I just went to order a fresh pair.

J.M. of Montpellier, VT
October 2016

_____

You have the best athletic shoes by the way.  Durable and comfortable.  After reading hundreds of reviews on Amazon about every brand of athletic shoe, for the sake of my curiosity, the most complaints about athletic shoes were about durability.  I'm a big guy at 345 pounds and I can't get a pair of athletic shoes to last more than 6 months to save my life.  It's been six months and these shoes are still going strong even with camping at the beach for 5 days and trips to the mountains.

In about a month (probably less), I'm going to buy another pair.  These will last forever, but I want to have some different looks.

J.L. Moxee, WA
September 2016

_____

Hey SOM, Just wanted to thank you guys for an awesome pair of shoes! Had them for a few months now, and I wear them just about everywhere. I was happy to find out they are excellent weight lifting shoes as well as for running.

So thanks again, as a military member, I respect your quality product and desire to support workers here at home!

I'll be on the lookout for another pair in the future!

A.W. of Fort Sam Houston, TX
August 2016

_____

My shoes arrived in great shape.  Thank you!  I've worn them and enjoy them.

I knew about SOM for a week or two before ordering them.  I have shoes from LEMS too, but wanted to try yours.  The thicker soles are better for wearing in the fields and trails here.  Lots of stickers and cactus thorns in west Texas.  Many family, friends and clients have been referred to SOM.  I hope some purchase shoes from you.  I will again.

C.W. of Apline, TX
August 2016

_____

I've been traveling the last two months, and just got back to find my shoes waiting for me.  They are *awesome*!  

I am blown away by your customer service.  
Your shoes rock.  You guys rock.

I've already been telling my friends about what great shoes you guys make, but now I'll have to start adding the story of how you brought my "winter pair" of SOM's back to life in such an awesome way.

P.H. of Anchorage, AK
July 2016

_____

SOMs hike by the river

We were on the Salmon River in Idaho in the Frank Church Wilderness for five days with a group organized by our friend at The Wilderness Society.  We rafted down the river, took a number of hikes, set up camp every night and broke camp every morning.  The shoes got wet, got dirty, were rained on, got a lot of sand in them.  I took three pairs, J took two.  As long as we took the insoles out and put the shoes in a dry place, the wet ones dried out and we had dry, comfortable feet for all these uses every day.  They were great!  Having taken several trips like this before, for our feet this was by far the best.  Most people prefer flip flops or sandals.  We both like the shoes.  Cheers.  

C.F. of Boston, MA
July 2016

_____

I'm so glad you were able to resole my shoes!  You did an amazing job!  

The quality of the work is impeccable!  

I'm so happy to get these shoes on my feet again, I've already got 3 hours of running in them.  I really like the outersole you use, It's been raining here a bit so we've got plenty of wet rocks, roots, and mud, and the traction is great!  Again, Merci beaucoup!


G.B. of Silverthorne, CO
July 2016

______

I love my new shoes!! Merci beaucoup!

Love my SOMs

A.C. of Eugene, OR

June 2016

_____


 

                              Read more testimonials