Shipping will resume after June 17th, 2024. We appreciate your patience.

Testimonials & Customer Reviews 2023

"May your feet take you where your heart wants to go!"
Read testimonials and customer reviews from actual people wearing our shoes in the real world!

Read why our customers buy again

barefoot feel, zero drop shoes for stronger feet

Back to year 2022                         Go to year 2024

 ____

I am grateful to have found your company and appreciate your footwear.

 ____

I have never encountered such comfortable shoes

I purchased my first pair of SOMs in early August. I have never encountered such comfortable shoes. Honestly, I have not taken them off since then. I have recommended SOM to anyone who asks about them. Comfort has always been on the top of my list, and I promise you when you put them on, being soooo comfortable you will forget to take them off. I will order another pair, not because these are worn, but because I will never buy another shoe brand again.
 
Amy S. from Montrose, CO

 ____

n today's era of compromise in quality and expected mediocrity, SOM stands out as a leading example of the phrase "I put my signature on my work." Your shoes are everything that you describe them to be. Hats off to you!

In today's era of compromise in quality and expected mediocrity, SOM stands out as a leading example of the phrase "I put my signature on my work." Your shoes are everything that you describe them to be. Hats off to you!

Thankfully,
Andrew D. from North Royalton OH

 ____

Not bad for a gym shoe with 1000 miles trail running

 ____

A carpenter who has only one pair of SOM and one flipflop

It's been awhile since I ordered a pair. My current pair of SOMs are my only shoes and have finally started to lose enough tread to justify a new pair for winter. I am a carpenter, these are my work shoes and everything else-shoes. Your construction quality has improved so much since my first pair many years ago, that my present pair won't die. I don't buy things, I own one pair of flip flops and one pair of SOMS. I wear both until they fall apart, then I repair them myself until they can no longer be repaired. My current pair of SOMS, that are at least 2 years old, has yet to need repair. Congrats on continuing to up your game!
Josh A. from Fort Collins, CO
Oct. 2023

 ____

When your favorite shoes matche yoru football team!

This is my second pair of SOM Shoes. The first ones were blue high tops. I love them. I have had them several years. My husband got a pair also a couple of years after I bought my first pair. I LOVE these low top burgundy SOM I just bought. They are the color of the collegiate football team we love. We park about a mile away from the football stadium and tailgate area. I need a good hiking shoe for this. I have been enjoying these shoes for several weeks now. I would love the lime green shoes also. Time will tell if I will be able to buy them also.. THANKS SOM for your MADE IN THE USA shoes that I love !!!

Cheryl B., Tupeto MS
Oct. 2023

 ____

Testimonial from a construction guy who does jog 3 miles a day

 ____

My SOMs are doing wonders to my misaligned hips.

____

Testimonial with SOM hiking in Canyonland and Arches National Parks

"These are my third pair of SOMs and I love all of them. While the newest model was delayed, they arrived on the day before we left for a a trip to Colorado and Utah. SOM in use hiking in Canyonlands and Arches National Park. It was blazing hot but the shoes performed excellently while climbing/hiking over the various terrains. Love the grey stretch webbing and attached tongue, no sand or small rocks were able to get into the shoes. Who would have thought if such a thing. Truthfully, I can't go back to dress shoes and that's not a bad thing. My feet no longer hurt even when wearing these shoes all day long or even for the entire week away while traveling and walking. Malcolm S. from Westminster ,MD - Aug. 2023

____

I wear them when I ride my Harley on short trips

____

I have high arch and expected pain. These shoes are wonderful.

No fault of SOM but there were supply issues and I was kept informed the whole time- made the “issue” a non-issue. My first pair of this kind of shoe and i was leery- i have high arches and I expected pain! These shoes are subtly wonderful. I wear them all day from day one i’m not wearing them for pickleball- I can’t imagine the unnatural pounding would be good in a minimally cushioned shoe- but who knows- maybe I’ll even try that in a few months! I can believe that the long term effects SOM claims have merit. We shall see. Meanwhile, it’s such a pleasure to deal with SOM that I’ll probably get another pair soon! Cool shoes made in USA. (The made in USA was a HUGE factor in my purchase.)

____

SOM Testimonials, they really have helped my Morton Neuromas
I love my Soms and they have really helped with my Morton’s neuromas. I basically wear them for all activities.
E.M. of Ridgewood, NY

____

Hiking the Dolomites Italy in my SOMs.

"I am proud to be 79 yr old and still rocking in my SOMs. Don't listen to me, I am the shoemaker's mom who design so well these shoes. They are so comfortable and versatile, I can do and I DO anything in them with style!"
Annie M. from Colmar France
June 2023

____

Just wanted to share where I'm rocking my SOMs right now.
The picture is from Orange County California. 
J. Law from Las Vegas, NV
June 2023

____

5 stars,
wow, thank you guys! New laces and new insoles as well to go with the resoling? Beautiful stuff. Certainly, best shoe company I've ever worked with.
Connor C. of Tempe, AZ
June 2023

____

I’ve worn literally ALL the barefoot shoe brands over the last 5 years and since I transitioned to barefoot training/living, I can never go back!!! I recently purchased a pair of the Mid-Top Hilite’s (HLN in black with Red Lettering) and I can finally say that I’ve found my “PERFECT ALL-AROUND” shoe!!! It’s just thin enough (10mm stack height) to provide you with that ground feel feedback your feet need but just thick enough to protect your feet from sharp rocks on trails. I do literally EVERYTHING in these things!!! I lift, run, hike, ruck, walk the pup, compete in Tough Mudders and Spartan Races, and everything in between in these things!!! AND THE PATRIOT IN ME CRIES BEAUTIFUL RED, WHITE, & BLUE TEARS OF PRIDE BECAUSE THEIR MADE RIGHT IN THE GOOD OL’ U.S. of A.!!!! When I die of old age (God willing), my Will will contain specific instructions for my family to ensure I’m buried with my SOM’s ON!!! Thank you to all the employees at SOM Footwear!!! You guys are awesome!!!

LeRoy E. of Colorado Springs, CO

June 2023

____

A few years ago I found SOM by “googling” shoes with a wide toe box and custom made. I’ve been in love ever since, this will be my third pair!
Brad S. of McKinney, TX
May 2023

____

The trailhead is the most comfortable shoe I've ever owned. I have high arches so I was afraid to try a flatter shoe. But the flexibility and wide toe are much more effective for avoiding foot pain.

Sans dress shoe required, I've been wearing the trailhead for every purpose the last 3 years. Leaving the house, doing yard work, hiking, jogging, everything. The sole of course wore out. I sent them in to be re-soled and they came back with basically a new pair of shoes that I can probably wear for another couple of years. Which would make it 5 years of daily wear for the same pair of shoes.

Jack V. of La Habra Heights, CA

May 2023

____

I am a hard-core barefooter, and this is the first pair of shoes that I have ever forgotten I was wearing. Most shoes I take off any chance I get. Not so with the Nutrail Cross Sport. They are so lightweight, and the balance and response is so playful and natural, that they are a delight to wear.
The tread makes for excellent grip on most surfaces, the body of the shoe is pliable but sturdy, and once I worked out the proper tension for the laces, the shoes fit to my feet very well. The materials of the shoe are a joy to behold; when I first got my pair in the mail, I just held them for a minute or two and revealed the touch of such a clean, sensible fabric and sole. Add to this the blessings inherent to USA-made goods, and you've got the recipe for a life-long customer.

Gordon S, of Elizabethon TN

May 2023

____ 

I own two pairs of SOMs, one is a mesh type that I bought first the other is more of a solid these are my favorite shoes. I've been wearing them for years and they are durable they fit my feet, the toe box is large, I've never worn a better pair of shoes and they get worn every day, my feet couldn't be happier.
Don G. of Bow, WA
April 2023

____

 I simply love my SOM Footwear

I’m loving my SOM’s so far!  I’ve been wearing them a lot (probably more than I should, as I’m new to barefoot style shoes), but wanted to break them in properly as I’m taking a trip in a week that will involve A LOT of walking and didn’t want to be uncomfortable there.  I felt some interesting soreness as my leg muscles got used to them, but all is going very well since.
The shoes seem well constructed and of quality materials.  They will definitely get used often.
Finally, I appreciate the Made in USA tags and incredible customer service.  I can’t think of the last time I ordered something and had this much personal outreach.  I am employed by a proud “Made in USA” manufacturer with global reach, and feel pride in finding and supporting American manufacturing, big or small.
Nick S of Bradford, PA
Feb. 2023

____

Good shoes, thank you.

____

I am impressed by how comfortable they are.

____

I was telling everyone at my gym how I love those shoes.

I was telling everyone at my gym this morning how much I'm loving these shoes. I've used them in several CrossFit workouts and walks since getting them last week. I'll likely try them out for a run coming up.
I really try to buy ethically made, American made, or second hand whenever possible, but that's often really tough with shoes. I found you all online as I searched. And I'm glad I did!
J. Savage from Holland, MI, Feb. 2023

____

My SOMs are a dream, they fit perfectly.

____

Trailhead testimonial, enjoying them every day

Enjoying my Trailheads. I usually buy a pair of shoes that I can wear all day every day. That is what I have been doing with the Trailheads. Sense of motion is what I literally get with them, being like moccasins or bare feet. Have had foot issues with past shoes and was a bit worried about the minimalist build of these. So far, very comfortable and I think that will continue. Just wish I could get them with cleats for golfing. Proud to buy Colorado/USA. Hope your good work doesn’t grow you out of Montrose.
K.B. of Arvada, Colorado, Feb. 2023
(bought them in Dec.)

____

Tesimonial on Nutrail Air LIght Blue. Fantastic shoes
Picked up my new Nutrail Air - Light Blues off the front porch two hours ago. Tried them on one hour ago - they fit great. Just finished my first workout (indoors, hey it's Michigan) five minutes ago - they feel fantastic. Kudos to y'all on a great shoe!
R.D. of Portland Michigan, Feb. 2023

____

versatile footwear made in america
"Love these shoes. Just received my fifth pair today... These are the most comfortable shoes. I've had two pairs resold. Love that they are lightweight and not bulky."
-L.M. of Washington, DC, January 2023

____

barefoot versatile shoes for comfortable feet
"These shoes are so comfortable and practical. I recommend these shoes for casual wear and exercise."
-V.H. of Manassas, VA, January 2023

____

the best minimalist shoes for strenghtening and healing your feet
"I stumbled upon SOMs while searching for American made shoes and I have not bought another brand since. I bought these 1st for work, and now own 3 different pairs, probably soon to be 4. These shoes are the best!"
-T.H., January 2023

____

comfortable, lightweight, versatile sneakers made in america
"Comfortable, lightweight, versatile, quality shoes. Tempted to buy a backup pair. Please keep this style [Nutrail Air] around SOM!"
-S.K. of Highlands, NJ, January 2023

____



Back to year 2022                         Go to year 2024