Like barefoot feel and flexible sole? Treat your feet right with SOM!

Testimonials & Customer Reviews 2019

"May your feet take you where your heart wants to go!"
Read testimonials and customer reviews from actual people wearing our shoes in the real world!

Read why our customers buy again

SOM norwood minimalist shoes on sidewalkSOM Minimalist Shoes

 

____

____

After 4 months: Love my SOM trailheads! Very comfortable and well made. Highly recommended. Retro look brings positive comments.
M.G. of Thibodeaux Louisianna
September 2019

____

Thanks for Amazing Shoes - Hi, just wanted to send a Thank You and let you know that we love the shoes we ordered.  My husband has wide feet so these were perfect for him.  He wore them all throughout our recent travels to the PNW, no problems.  I am simply happy to have zero-drop trail shoes made in the States.  Really quality product, keep up the great work.
E.W. of St-Paul Minnesota
September 2019

____

Thanks for a great design! - I have been very happy with my SOM shoes. They are my go-to casual shoe and gym shoe. The wide toe box is comfortable. I've also received several compliments on how cute they are. My mom is looking into purchasing a pair as well.  I'll be buying more pairs in the future. 
C.S. of Saratoga Springs New York
August 2019

____

Love the shoes.  Wear them every day for just about any occasion.  Comfortable, lightweight, and they seem to be rather hard wearing.  No major complaints…It might be nice to have an option for a smaller toe box.  I do a lot of competitive driving and when I wear these instead of dedicated race shoes or plain old skate shoes, the toe box is a little large to precisely work the pedals.  Thanks for the great shoes!
J.S. of Windber Pensylvania
August 2019

 ____

I bought my Norwoods first, and very quickly came to love them! I've since bought a pair of Trailheads that have become my daily runners. I wanted to get shoes that would help me rehab some fairly serious foot and ankle injuries, and I'm happy to say that my balance and strength has come back significantly since running in my SOMs!
J.G. of Willow Pansylvania
August 2019

 ____

Trailhead hold on well 120 miles

I just wanted to drop a line and say that I wore the trailheads while one bagging from Amsterdam to Rome and with 120 miles walked/hiked in 13 days, they held up amazingly and were very comfortable the entire trip.  Thanks again!
P.F. of Pontachoula Louisianna
August 2019

 ____

Feedback from a barefoot veteran: It's been almost a year since buying my SOMs and I'm finally ready to give a review. I want to love these shoes, I really do. They look great and are nice and wide at the toes. My only issue is that, as someone who has worn barefoot shoes for 7+ years, the soles just aren't thin and flexible enough for me. Taking out the insole helped but then I needed another thinner insole (I stole some from a pair of vivobarefoot) because the sole was too hard and flat without it. Nevertheless, I enjoy these shoes and wear them quite often. I can't wear them for long periods of time or for walking a lot but for my everyday wear (I work in child care and take shoes off most of the day) or out and about they are great. They would be perfect for someone transitioning to barefoot shoes!
E.M. from Aurora Colorado
August 2019

 ____

I love my SOMs. They have become my exclusive go-to sneaker. Not only do they fit really well, but I get to brag that they are made right here in the old USA. My feet were extremely tired for the first month as I walked around in these new shoes, but I knew I was getting to use all of these unknown muscles in my feet that got suppressed from getting stuffed into unmoving steel toed boots for many decades. I'm a little surprised at the wear on the tread. I didn't expect them to wear down so quickly. (Note from SOM: It all depends how an individual walks). I'll be looking into getting new rubber soles later, but I'll need to buy a second pair first. Don't want to be without my favorite sneakers. On a side note, I went bowling tonight for the first time in a very long time, and I was acutely aware of the fractional rise in the heel of the bowling shoe. I guess I've totally adapted to the zero rise heel of my SOMs. Thank you SOM team for making a wonderful product. Wish there were more companies like yours.

J. F. of Lexington, South Carolina
August 2019

____
The shoes are excellent. My favorite pair of shoes by far! I use them most days for everything. Great product. Thanks.
R.F. of Friday Harbor Washington
June 2019
____
I LOVE my SOM shoes - sorry you can’t have them back  :) Best wishes 
R.G. of Duneden New Zealand
June 2019
____
Rockin' my SOM in Outer Banks in North Carolina. They are the most comfortable shoes I have ever worn. Thanks for making such a great shoe!
A.R. of Chesterfield Virginia
May 2019
____
I just love my SOMs!
B.H. of Hidden Colorado
May 2019
____

 

Dear SOM, I hope you are doing well! I purchased a pair of your SOM shoes about two years back. Just a bit of an update.. I am currently in Chile working at a winery and am wearing my shoes almost every single day! I recently went with a group of friends to the driest desert in the world, desert of San Pedro de Atacama in the north of Chile. Of course I had to bring your guys shoes with me to go hiking in! So here is a picture of SOM shoes in a desert in Chile at 13,000ft up. What great work you guys have done and I think that this just shows you can take these shoes on any adventure around the world!

A.W. of a winery in Chile
April 2019

____

You guys are awesome and I wont buy any shoe besides SOM for my casual, workout or everyday needs.

A.P. of Trenton Michigan
April 2019

____

This past December I was on a hike with family in a Florida state park. Walking along I glanced down and said to myself 'those are a unique set of foot prints' as a person with leaves on the feet had walked by. What struck me was the curves on the footwear impression; looked so different from either the clunky big shoe treads or the unnatural curves and straight lines of other shoes. On closer inspection of the print in the sand I saw SOM backwards. Wondering I raised my foot up and low and behold there was the mirror image of the print on the ground. I was seeing my tracks as we stopped at a certain point and went down the same trail we came. I also commented to my self that my prints were the most distinctive and gentle pattern left as a trace of my walk that day. Makes me smile.
This is best pair of foot wear I have been shod with in my 70 years. Thanks for the quality, thanks for the design, thanks for comfort and thanks for the durability.
J.T. of Alton Illinois
April 2019
____
Love, Love, LOVE them(Briquette)!!!  You do an amazing job.  Keep up the tremendous work!  Thanks so much.

M.M. of Lee Massachusetts
April 2019

____

I have a pair of Norwoods which I have owned for a year. I have done a lot of walking in them, got them muddy and washed them, and done lots of house building (including shingling) in them, and they have been extremely comfortable and durable. I think you need to try to introduce your shoes to the construction industry. Most builders I know who work up high wear tennis shoes, and I think they would really go for your shoes if they knew about them. Now the soles of my Norwoods are getting a bit thin, and I am looking to buy a second pair so I can get them resold without having a "break in service" (I have come to depend on them that much!). The uppers of my present pair have been washable and extremely abrasion-resistant. Thank you.
B.H. of Stanton Nebraska
March 2019
 

____
Just received the new and resoled SOMs.  Thank you for the personal notes.  I first saw the Briquettes and thought maybe you sent the wrong style as they look so new!  Though I sent them washed of course, I don’t remember them being that unscuffed and clean looking.  Both the Ambitions and Briquettes look and feel great!  Please extend my thanks to Olie for giving it a go and the resulting beautiful job on the resoling! 
R.P. of East Amherst New York
February 2019
____
My SOM shoes (Norwood in Color) are great! I have been using them as cold weather running shoes (New England).  They are totally fantastic for running in the mud, snow etc...I also use them as cold weather biking shoes for my commute to work. The toe box allows my toes not to freeze since there is enough room for blood to flow.
G.R. of Newton, Massachusetts
February 2019
____
(This was in January) Back for a second pair! You have ruined me, I quite literally cannot wear any other shoes. I'm looking forward to the new sole, my old ones are just under a year old and I honestly do not know how they have lasted this long. I have given them a run for the money as they are my daily work shoes building houses and weekend warriors in the great outdoors of NOCO. Looking forward to trying to wear out a new pair.
......................

I just wanted to tell y'all how incredibly impressed and happy I am with my new SOM "Trailheads". Thank you for the offer to try the new model, it's great! The new soles are far superior to the Vibram soles on my old Norwoods both in looks and feel. The breath-ability of the new material is amazing, I can actually feel the outside air temp thru the shoe which makes them not quite as warm as the old Norwoods but will be welcome come summer. So far the material has been very abrasion resistant and still looks new despite daily wear on construction sites. I'm normally apprehensive when I find something I like and the manufacturer changes it but the new SOMs are the exception, you all have improved the shoe while maintaining its soul. These shoes look, wear, and perform beyond expectations, thank you again!

J.A. of Fort Collins, Colorado
February 2019
____
I bought the flare shoes.  The black has faded badly with daily use.  Especially over the toe cap.  Otherwise they are holding up well to daily wear and 2 x weekly crossfit.  
J.D. of Saint-Louis, Missouri
January 2019
____

I am happy with them. I am impressed with the build quality and attention to detail; that and being made in America makes them worth the price to me. They're still a bit narrow for me but so far the best off-the-shelf casual shoe I've been able to find. I like the style, and this sort of footwear in a conventional street wear style is basically impossible to find. I wore Chuck Taylors for 15 years before I switched to Vibram Five Fingers so  I was pretty happy to find out about the Norwood.

B.L. of Canterbury, New Zealand
January 2019

____

Id like to say that I absolutely enjoy your product and your business model. I continue to try different models and brands in the growing wide toe box market, but am always looking forward to getting my feet back into a pair of SOMs. There is no shoe like it on the market, and I highly value that they're made in the USA! Thank you for following your entrepreneurial ambition and bringing me and my feet some long sought comfort!

E.A. of Ashville, North Carolina
January 2019

____

So far so good! My SOM's are light weight, comfortable, easy to clean and best is that they are Made in the U.S.A.!

E.Y. of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
January 2019

____

I love them. I wear them to the gym and on Saturdays out and about. I receive compliments from random strangers! I love the zero drop flat foot feel. And I love how they look. I'm glad I bought them. I love to support American Made!

L.R. of Myrtle Creek, Oregon
January 2019

____

This is my second pair. I am 100% satisfied. I only wear barefoot style shoes. I can't wait until my non-SOM shoes wear out so I can buy another pair of yours. Perfect fit, design, quality and durability. They're my everyday office shoes. I have never seen Papa the bulldog so excited over a pair of shoes.  Thanks for making vegan friendly shoes in the USA.

 Vegan shoes loved by Papa the buldog

R.O. of Darien, Connecticut
January 2019

____

 

 

                              Read more testimonials from 2018 and before